Cardio is the key to staying fit and losing weight.  It burns tons of calories and improves your heart.  Those of you whose problem areas include the abdominal area or thighs, an increased cardio workout will become your best friend.  Everyone is different, everyone’s body reacts and adapts to things in different ways.  Personally I have learned that the more cardio I incorporate into my routine the faster I see results.  I myself take the more “natural” approach to exercise, meaning I use my own body weight and outdoors as my equipment.  I think your body weight alone provides ample resistance, not always needed through actual weight sets or machines.  By simply running, outdoors, the natural incline and weight of your body will help you increase strength.

But sometimes, I understand as a busy college student a 30 minute cardio workout can be difficult to squeeze in.  So I recently began this 4 Minute workout that is just as intense as a 10 minute jog.

Okay I’m going to break down each exercise in 3 simple steps:

STEP 1: RUN IN PLACE- bringing your knees as high as they can go, in attempt to reach you chest.  As you run (sprint) in place as fast as you can, you’re going to move from left to right. You are going to move very slowly to either side only spanning about 3 feet.

TIME DURATION: Complete for 20 seconds

*BREAK FOR 10 SECONDS

STEP 2: MOUNTAIN CLIMPBERS- get in push up position, take your left foot and bring your knee up to your chest. Then alternate to your right foot.  Continue this motion alternating feet as quickly as possible.

TIME DURATION: Complete for 20 seconds

*BREAK FOR 10 SECONDS

STEP 3: SEAL JACKS: this exercise is very similar to a jumping jacks but instead of bringing your arms over your head, you bring themin front of your chest.  Mimicking a seal, hence the name seal jacks. Continue this  routine bringing your hands together as quickly as possible.

TIME DURATION: Complete for 20 seconds

*BREAK FOR 10 SECONDS

REPEAT ALL 3 EXERSISES 2 MORE TIMES

Total time will be about 4mins and 20 seconds

In the beginning this workout will be very difficult.  I consider myself a fit person and I struggled the first time I did it , so don’t get discouraged.  I recommend trying to complete one of the cycles.  Every day after that try to make it one step further until you can complete the cycle 3 times in total.

Good luck!

One response »

  1. This is awesome! It sounds difficult but I could see myself working up to doing the whole work out. Do you know why seal jacks or more efficient then the standard ones? I’m interested to see!

Leave a Reply

