Okay, so this post is for those of you who want to began incorporating fitness and exercise in their life but aren’t really sure where to start.  It’s always tough in the beginning, when your either trying something new or picking up something you haven’t done in awhile, regardless of the task.  Not only will we start on the first step be physical but you mentally need to be ready as well.   One of the keys to successful progress in your fitness is to keep a positive attitude; this is what I have personally found true.  Many of will get discouraged when we don’t see results right away or your workouts are difficult but keeping a positive and go-get-em attitude can stand between success and failure.

One of the first things to consider when designing a workout routine that is almost custom built for you is to evaluate where you are physically.  For myself, I will run 1 mile (trying my best not to stop running) and take a look at my time.  Now if you have trouble completing a mile without walking, that should be your first goal.  It’s all about setting reasonable goals for yourself and at the same time pushing yourself.  Now when? and where? are two great questions.  Since this blog is geared towards college students, my suggestions will cater to this lifestyle.  I find that running in the morning is the best, because it gets your blood flowing and your heart pumping which will ultimately give you more energy for the rest of your day.  Another plus to running in the morning is actually getting it out of the way.  College students are known for procrastinating, especially me.  And we will find any excuse to put something off and say “oh I’ll get to that later,”  but we never do.  SO running in the morning eliminates the possibility of you taking it off your “things to do list.”  Where?  Personally I enjoy running outside, not just because of the fresh air but because of the natural obstacles I encounter that increase the intensity of my workout.  Find that killer hill that lurks around nearly every college campus and go!  The slight incline will provide more resistance which will make your body work harder and give you a better workout.

Well that’s all for this post, I will try to incorporate some of these tips as a starting point.  Next week I will include tips for those of us who either can’t stand running and would prefer another form of cardio.  Talk to you all next time. Please feel free to comment or question!

2 responses »

  1. Gabby Buehrle says:

    i’m definitely one of those “I’ll do it later” type of workout people so these are great tips for the workout procrastinator! It’s all about finding time to get that workout out of the way! Have you thought about including tips for people who have the desire to work out, but don’t go unless they’re going in a group? I’m one of those people too- “Are you guys going to the gym? No? Okay, well then I’m not going either”. It might be a good idea to include tips on how to get over that need to work out with other people thing!

    Keep up the good blogging! Looking forward to your next post!

  2. Hey Gabby,

    I have definitely been that person who is says “well if you guys aren’t going then I’ll go some other time.” I think it’s great to work out with friends because it does give you a sense of responsibility to go to the gym because others are counting on you to be there. But at the same time, you need to create your own individual workout routine that you do by yourself. I personally have a separate routine for group dates and another for individual workouts. I think you choose to either exercise on a similar level as your friends. You don’t always push yourself, so your individual workouts should be accelerated routines. I hope that all makes sense.

    -michelle

Leave a Reply

